Book Release: GEMS OF STRENGTH Anthology

Gems of Strength, the first book in the Gems of Sisterhood anthology series, has now been published! WOOHOO! Today is release day, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I’m going to sit down and binge read the rest of the stories in the book – there are 18 in total, all about women overcoming difficult, and sometimes traumatic obstacles.

My short story is called “Focal Point”, and it revolves around a woman who is slashed in the face on a city street, a crime on the rise in New York. The aftermath of such a vicious and traumatic attack is extremely difficult to deal with, and I did research on real victims of this crime so I could paint an accurate picture of their struggle.

Gems of Strength banner 1

I hope you enjoy the whole anthology, and watch out for Gems of Thanksgiving in November 2016!

Where to buy:

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Gems-Strength-Sisterhood…/…/B01CDJ784G
Smashwords: http://geni.us/2nus
Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=pw6fCwAAQBAJ
Google Books: https://books.google.com/books/about?id=pw6fCwAAQBAJ&hl=en
Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gems-of-strength…/1123461723
ITunes: http://geni.us/1AyZ

Advertisements

GEMS OF STRENGTH Facebook Party May 28

Today, May 28 is the Facebook party for Gems of Strength, the first anthology in the Gems of Sisterhood anthology series. Come join us here! The party will run all day, and my time slot is 3 p.m. Eastern Time / 2 p.m. Central Time. I’ll be giving away a Kindle copy of Anatomy of a Darkened Heart, a Kindle copy of Gems of Strength, and a surprise gift! Have fun with us today. Can’t wait to see you there.

New Short Story in a Dark Anthology

This year has been a very productive writing year for me, and to finish it out, you The December Awethology - Dark Volumecan read my short story “Piece and Quiet” for FREE in The December Awethology – Dark Volume. It’s a wonderful holiday anthology filled with short dark writings by plenty of fantastic authors, including Rocky Rochford, William Frank Lloyd, Rebecca McCray, Paul White, and many more. What kind of darkness are we talking about? Every kind! That’s what’s so great about this anthology: the only themes that connect these pieces are “dark” and “holiday”. Download your Kindle copy for free and enjoy.

If you’re looking for lighter stories, there’s also a light volume of The December Awethology that is just as packed but with diverse light holiday stories. It features excellent authors like Kelly Hall, Chrissy Moon, Chess Desalls, Sharon Lipman, and loads of others. And most importantly, it’s also free!

My advice? Download both versions and alternate between the dark and light volumes. You’re bound to discover new favorite authors you hadn’t heard of before!

THIS IS HALLOWEEN!

As Danny Elfman wrote in a song from The Nightmare Before Christmas, “Life’s no fun without a good scare!” So what are you doing this Halloween? Here are some great events to attend online today and a couple of horror anthologies to keep your day and night fun.

Facebook Parties

1. Halloween Haunt Event – public Facebook event

7:00 p.m. – 1:00 a.m. Eastern Time October 30
Spooks, ghosts, goblins, witches, monsters and more. It’s Halloween and we’re doing some haunting! Featuring 9 author takeovers, games, and giveaways!
Come join us here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1651083775169612/

2. Fright Night with the #Awethors – public Facebook event

4:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. Eastern Time October 31
The official launches of the latest works by Rocky Rochford, Michael J Elliott and Patrick Elliott. Featuring 9 author takeovers, games, giveaways, video readings and a Mega Halloween Giveaway. Join us Awethors on the sacriest night of the year!
Come join us here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1491634637818224/

3. The Elemental by Lisa Release Party – public Facebook event

4:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. Eastern Time October 31
This Samhuinn aka Halloween Booktrope Publishing will release The Elemental. If you could save the world by giving your life, would you? Featuring 8 author takeovers!
Come join us here: https://www.facebook.com/events/886167311421123/

Horror Anthologies

  1. Portraits of Dread by Michael J. Elliottavailable on Amazon
    Portraits of Dread (72dpi 900x600)
    In this collection of twelve stories, Michael J. Elliott examines dread in all its many forms,
    In “Mother Called Today” a woman becomes increasingly fearful of her demanding mother’s incessant phone calls. She has a horrible secret about her mother, something she is too scared to share with anyone.
    In “The Little Man on Top of the Wardrobe” four-year-old James has always been very good about going to bed, but recently he’s been too scared to go to sleep. There is a little man living on top of his wardrobe and it wants his soul. Of course that’s just his overactive childhood imagination… Isn’t it?
    In “A Glutton for Punishment” we visit a future that isn’t too hard to imagine. It’s a world where the overweight are social pariahs, where the government controls their eating and shopping and failure to lose weight after three attempts results in the obese being sent to a detention camp. Lynda Whittaker has just been sent to one such camp and she’s about to learn a horrifying government secret that shows they still have one final use for the overweight.
    Portraits Of Dread contains these chillers and more.

2. A Dark Assortment by Mikey Campling – available on Amazon

Don’t be afraid. They’re just stories, aren’t they?
Sometimes that noise you can hear upstairs is just the old floorboards creaking as they settle down for the night. Sometimes.
But there’s no need to worry because, that face you saw at the window was just a reflection.
There’s no one else here. You’re alone. But that’s OK because you’re safe in your bed. And all those things you fear deep down in the dark reaches of your soul… well, they only happen in stories, don’t they?
A Dark Assortment is a collection of seventeen stories; a chocolate box of handmade treats. But beware – beneath each richly decorated shell, there’s a seed of delicious darkness.
These stories with a twist are perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe, and if you enjoy books like Ray Bradbury’s “Illustrated Man” and Roald Dahl’s “Skin” then we’ll get along just fine.
Oh – before I go, I’ll wish you all Sweet Dreams.