Women in Horror Month Interview

This month is Women in Horror month! To celebrate, David Spell from The Scary Reviews and Erin Al-Mehairi from Hook of a Book are co-hosting interviews of 20 female dark fiction and horror authors in 2 weeks. The interviews are short and sweet, and you’ll discover lots of new books you can’t resist. Read my and two other fabulous interviews here. And don’t forget to go through the other ones – they’re all so interesting, your TBR list will expand by the minute!

Advertisements

The Scary Reviews Talks About AoDH

Yesterday I was thrilled to find horror and dark fiction review website The Scary Reviews had posted a review of Anatomy of a Darkened Heart. I have to say, when I found out the wonderful David Spell was reading my book, I was nervous. AoDH is certainly dark, but it isn’t horror. Some people say AoDH creeps them out while others enjoy its darkness with no creep factor. David is a seasoned horror reviewer, so you can imagine my split feelings between excitement at his reading my book and apprehension. What if it simply didn’t hit the mark of being dark enough to satisfy a reader with so many dark fiction books under his belt?

See for yourself why I’m excited about his review.

I’m so fortunate to be featured on David’s new section of his website “Women in Horror”, a project that’s very exciting for us females who want to be recognized for our darkness. Make sure to check out the other ladies who have been and will be featured on David’s site. David’s interview with me will be posted December 15, so stay tuned for that as well! (Update: find the interview here!)

Featured on Matthew W Harrill & Giveaway

Intense horror writer Matthew W Harrill (with the amazing book covers!) of The ARC Chronicles featured Anatomy of a Darkened Heart on his site! Read an excerpt of the first book in the Dark Victoriana Collection and get a taste of my writing and the dark ambiance of the novel. Here’s a teaser:

“Abigail was instinctively afraid of Mother, the woman always wearing a stern and somewhat angry expression. She was usually either clunk clunking somewhere in a hurry as if it was somebody’s doomsday or she was sitting straight-backed in the parlor’s stiff armchair, constantly looking at the door as if she were waiting. Whatever she was waiting for never seemed to come.”

Come read the rest here!

I’m currently writing the second book in the collection, Locke and Keye, so now’s a good time to win Anatomy of a Darkened Heart by entering my Rafflecopter giveaway here. Hurry, it ends Sunday!

THIS IS HALLOWEEN!

As Danny Elfman wrote in a song from The Nightmare Before Christmas, “Life’s no fun without a good scare!” So what are you doing this Halloween? Here are some great events to attend online today and a couple of horror anthologies to keep your day and night fun.

Facebook Parties

1. Halloween Haunt Event – public Facebook event

7:00 p.m. – 1:00 a.m. Eastern Time October 30
Spooks, ghosts, goblins, witches, monsters and more. It’s Halloween and we’re doing some haunting! Featuring 9 author takeovers, games, and giveaways!
Come join us here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1651083775169612/

2. Fright Night with the #Awethors – public Facebook event

4:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. Eastern Time October 31
The official launches of the latest works by Rocky Rochford, Michael J Elliott and Patrick Elliott. Featuring 9 author takeovers, games, giveaways, video readings and a Mega Halloween Giveaway. Join us Awethors on the sacriest night of the year!
Come join us here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1491634637818224/

3. The Elemental by Lisa Release Party – public Facebook event

4:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. Eastern Time October 31
This Samhuinn aka Halloween Booktrope Publishing will release The Elemental. If you could save the world by giving your life, would you? Featuring 8 author takeovers!
Come join us here: https://www.facebook.com/events/886167311421123/

Horror Anthologies

  1. Portraits of Dread by Michael J. Elliottavailable on Amazon
    Portraits of Dread (72dpi 900x600)
    In this collection of twelve stories, Michael J. Elliott examines dread in all its many forms,
    In “Mother Called Today” a woman becomes increasingly fearful of her demanding mother’s incessant phone calls. She has a horrible secret about her mother, something she is too scared to share with anyone.
    In “The Little Man on Top of the Wardrobe” four-year-old James has always been very good about going to bed, but recently he’s been too scared to go to sleep. There is a little man living on top of his wardrobe and it wants his soul. Of course that’s just his overactive childhood imagination… Isn’t it?
    In “A Glutton for Punishment” we visit a future that isn’t too hard to imagine. It’s a world where the overweight are social pariahs, where the government controls their eating and shopping and failure to lose weight after three attempts results in the obese being sent to a detention camp. Lynda Whittaker has just been sent to one such camp and she’s about to learn a horrifying government secret that shows they still have one final use for the overweight.
    Portraits Of Dread contains these chillers and more.

2. A Dark Assortment by Mikey Campling – available on Amazon

Don’t be afraid. They’re just stories, aren’t they?
Sometimes that noise you can hear upstairs is just the old floorboards creaking as they settle down for the night. Sometimes.
But there’s no need to worry because, that face you saw at the window was just a reflection.
There’s no one else here. You’re alone. But that’s OK because you’re safe in your bed. And all those things you fear deep down in the dark reaches of your soul… well, they only happen in stories, don’t they?
A Dark Assortment is a collection of seventeen stories; a chocolate box of handmade treats. But beware – beneath each richly decorated shell, there’s a seed of delicious darkness.
These stories with a twist are perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe, and if you enjoy books like Ray Bradbury’s “Illustrated Man” and Roald Dahl’s “Skin” then we’ll get along just fine.
Oh – before I go, I’ll wish you all Sweet Dreams.


Photographic Writing Prompts for Paranoid Characters

Pictures to put you in the mood for writing scenes of paranoia and fear.

~~~

 

the clock

 

Time erodes our lives like fear erodes our confidence.

 

who's there

 

Please don’t turn, please don’t turn…

 

between the shades

 

Lace curtains can’t disguise bad intentions, but they can distract from the voyeur watching you.

 

peek

 

Is someone out there?

 

dolly

 

“Dolly, look…”

 

watching

 

“They told me that house was abandoned. I’m not so sure.”

 

closed

 

The windows are closed, but the things we fear remain inside…with us.

 

what lies beneath

 

“I thought I felt something tug at my leg under the table…”

 

~~~

I hope you enjoyed this series of pictures and prompts. Leave your own captions in the comments below!